Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (NUTS) is a hierarchical system by the Statistical Office of the European Union (Eurostat). It is used for the regional division of the territory of the EU (status 2018): 

  • production, development and harmonisation of European statistics
  • socio-economic analyses of the regions
    • NUTS 1: 104 socio-economic major regions
    • NUTS 2: 281 base regions for regional policy measures
    • NUTS 3: 1.248 small regions for specific diagnosis
  • shaping EU regional policy

More information on NUTS at Eurostat